How I Stay Connected When The Electricity Is Off In Gaza

Car batteries attached to converter unit

Car batteries attached to converter unit

I have been asked many times how I stay connected and post when the electricity is off in Gaza. Right now we are facing 12 hour blackouts and with Israeli aggression it is important we continue to blog and tweet so our voices are heard.
I have a converter powered by a car battery and one battery reserved as a back up. I can run one light bulb, my router, and lap top for about 8 hours before I need to recharge it. The cost for this unit is 700 shekels ($200 USD) and the batteries cost another 700 shekels which might not seem like much but in Gaza even that amount is out of reach for a majority of families. We also have a gas fueled generator but as fuel is scarce we never use it. Many people have converted their gas generators to work on cooking gas instead but this is hard on the engine and the environment. Gaza has had to adapt to the fuel and electricity shortages and this has ushered in an innovative phase and we have used the challenges as an opportunity to be inventive and resourceful.

Front Panel

Front Panel

Small amount of light from one light bulb -you can barely see my cat on the sofa

Small amount of light from one light bulb -you can barely see my cat on the sofa


DCIM100MEDIA

5 responses to “How I Stay Connected When The Electricity Is Off In Gaza

  1. Keep u in my prayers.

  2. Salam alykum sister
    Mashallah i admire your dedication in getting the news to all of us for your effort in all that you do .
    Inshallah Allah bless you for everything and reward you.
    Also inshallah reward the parents who made you the person you are today alhumduallah Ameen .

  3. Wow, you are incredible inspiring 🙂

  4. Pingback: How I Stay Connected When The Electricity Is Off In Gaza ~ by @sallyidewedar | Occupied Palestine | فلسطين

Leave a Reply

